Oh the Mystery of Mystery Games

It’s crazy to believe that next year will the the 30th anniversary of the family business, WhodunnitMysteries.com.

Mom-Dad-300x200

Several years ago, my parents handed the business off to me to run when they hit their twilight years. Since then, I’ve helped run it in one way or another, including writing new mystery games.

As we prepare for the anniversary, I’ve been kicking it into high gear with my sisters, updating, re-writing, and tweaking existing games, as well as brainstorming, plotting and creating character sheets for each part.

Writing a mystery game takes a bit more work than a short story, but isn’t quite a novella.  To me, it’s so much more fun.

Mystery games are a complet

 

e exit from my normal writing style. I work hard to mimic my late father’s personality, which was more slap-stick. His humor was wacky, and random, which is perfect for a mystery game; you never knew where your character would end up.

I tend to write more action and drama. However, taking a break from my Unleashed and Courting Disaster Series’ to write mystery games enables me to return to them with fresh eyes.

And I could easily burn out. I’ve been working in these series for nearly 6 years now, making sure that each detail is intertwined within the respective story arch and plot twists. In essence, I’ve been writing six books simultaneously.

When I put my novels aside

 

and concentrate on weaving the mysterious, albeit quirky web of a mystery game, I use a completely different set of skills.  Rather than telling a story in 70,000 words, I must encapsulate an entire character, build a world, and pull the party-goers into the game in less than one page. It’s certainly a challenge, but one I’m willing to accept.

If you are the type of person who likes a good Mystery Game, I highly recommend WhodunnitMysteries.com. Not because my family owns it, and I’m a writer, but because the stories are PG, the games are unique, and people come back over and over again to play more games.

See No Evil Mystery game party
See No Evil Mystery Game Party

I think  See No Evil is my favorite of the mystery games because I have a son with special needs and this game lets you spend a couple hou

 

rs walking in their shoes. But also because the plot twists and characters had me gut-rolling. I don’t know how my dad came up with the material.

If you are interested in seeing what I can do as a mystery writer, I’d recommend Murder in Morocco or Mulligan’s Island. Both are fun, and both were created upon request by clients.

Be on the lookout for my works-in-progress. Of the games created, I’m writing:

 

 

A Pirate Theme

Masquerade Ball

Circus Themed

A Fed & Dead Themed Thanksgiving Dinner

And, if I’m really lucky, they’ll let me do something for Christmas too.  Cross your fingers!

For more information, visit our website at http://www.whodunnitmysteries.com, or sign-up for our newsletter and we’ll let you know as they games come out.

Leave a Reply

WordPress.com.

Up ↑

